Community Pharmacy Foundation
We are looking for the next great idea to advance the practice of pharmacy in the community setting.

CPF is a non-profit organization dedicated to advancing community pharmacy practice and patient care delivery through grant funding and resource sharing.
Search Entire Site
Search Grants Only
Search Library Only
Like Us On Facebook!
Connect with us on LinkedIn
Like Us On Facebook!
CPF Updates

CPF Grantees are Recipients of APhA 2019 Academy Awards

CPF Grantees Selected as APhA Fellows - Michelle Chui, Jeff Rochon

The APhA Foundation Awards 2019 Incentive Grants

CPF Insider
Insider Main / Calendar
 -Current CPF Newsletter
 -Latest Quarterly Grant Action
Grant FAQs

CPF Funds Are Available.. Learn More

First Name
Last Name

To reduce spam, enter the
security code shown below.

Get new code

Current Community Newsletter
View Our December 2018 Newsletter Online
Changes to the Community Pharmacy Foundation (CPF) Board of Directors

Date Released: Friday, August 31, 2018
Changes to the Community Pharmacy Foundation (CPF) Board of Directors

August 31, 2018 – At the August 22-23, 2018 meeting, the board of the Community Pharmacy Foundation honored the retirement of Robert ‘Bob’ Osterhaus from the board of directors. Board President Phil Burgess recognized Osterhaus’ contributions to CPF during his eighteen years of service. The board appointed Pharmacist Matt Osterhaus, a practicing community pharmacist and a national leader in community pharmacy, to the CPF board of directors. He joins Phil Burgess, Brian Jensen, Linda Garrelts MacLean, Dorinda Martin, Randy Myers and Carlos Ortiz. 


CPF originated after a small group of independent pharmacists led by Bob Gude organized The Pharmacy Freedom Fund. This group subsequently filed a class action law suit against all the major pharmaceutical manufacturers for a change to multitier pricing that challenged the future of independent community pharmacy.  The settlement of this lawsuit included $18.6 million for the establishment of a Community Pharmacy Foundation with a purpose to “Advance the profession of Community Pharmacy.”


Initially, the Community Pharmacy Foundation consisted of a 5-member board of directors, which included Bob Osterhaus. Over the years it has evolved into a 7-member board and an executive director. The founding board’s intent was to ensure the longevity of CPF, with annual grant funding dollar allocations guided by estimated annual investment income. CPF currently has over $24 million to support innovative community pharmacy advancements and has invested more than $8 million in the profession. Annual grant funding averages approximately $550,000 with an individual grant award around $35-$40,000 (Isetts, et al., CPF 10-Year Program Evaluation Analysis.) Larger awards are possible based on the opportunity for significant, quantifiable impact on the profession.


Robert J. Osterhaus, RPh– the guiding rule for ‘Bob O’ is, “If it’s good for the patient it’s good for pharmacy; if it’s not good for the patient, it’s not good for pharmacy.” A long-time community pharmacy activist, Bob is a former president of the Iowa Pharmacy Association, the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) and the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE).  He was awarded the Remington Honor Medal, the pharmacy profession’s highest honor, in 2005. He served in the Iowa House of Representatives for 9 years and has been active in his community of Maquoketa, Iowa. Bob and his wife, Ann, established Osterhaus Pharmacy in 1965. They have been married for 65 years; have ten children (two pharmacists) and twenty-six grandchildren. 


Matthew C. Osterhaus, BSPharm, FASCP, FAPhA, is a community and consultant pharmacist who co-owns and manages Osterhaus Pharmacy and M&M Care in Maquoketa, Iowa. A graduate of the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, he was a member of the Board of Trustees of the APhA from 2007-2016, serving as the 159th President in 2014. His innovative pharmacy practice includes long-term care, hospice care, home medical equipment, specialty packaging, compounding, immunizations and medication therapy management. He was a founder of OutcomesMTMTM and has been instrumental in furthering community-based pharmacy research in Iowa. He has served on the State of Iowa pharmacy committee and is actively involved with the Iowa colleges of pharmacy, providing training opportunities for pharmacy students and residents. Currently, he is leading the effort to establish the Iowa Community Pharmacy Enhanced Services Network.


The board looks forward to Matt’s contributions to CPF and working with him to meet the primary goal of CPF… to look for the next great idea to advance the practice of pharmacy in the community setting!



More about CPF

The Community Pharmacy Foundation (CPF) is a non-profit organization founded in 2000 to advance community pharmacy practice and improve patient care delivery delivered by pharmacists.  Funding priorities include topics that highlight new and emerging patient care services that are financially sustainable, transferable, and replicable in community pharmacy practice. Resources are posted for each grantee and special website sections are compiled for toolkit materials and journal publications. For more information about the Community Pharmacy Foundation, please visit Follow CPF on Twitter and Facebook for the latest updates.


The Community Pharmacy Foundation
Funding Since 2002 | Chicago Illinois
Home CPF Insider Terms Like Us On Facebook! Connect with us on LinkedIn Like Us On Facebook!
CPF Grants/Funding About Us Privacy
Pharmacy Reference Library Contact Us  
© 2019 All Rights Reserved | ISADEX Corporation | Stoughton, WI USA Community Pharmacy Foundation