Community Pharmacy Foundation Appoints New Executive Director

Date Released: Thursday, January 22, 2015
The Community Pharmacy Foundation (CPF) Appoints its 2nd Executive Director
Chicago, IL | January 22, 2015
Pharmacist and current grants administrator, Anne Marie (Sesti) Kondic, PharmD from Chicago, IL will succeed her father, Louis Sesti, and has been appointed executive director of the Foundation effective January 1, 2015.  In this capacity Kondic will manage the Foundation’s operations and administer its policies and procedures as established by the Board of Directors.
Anne Marie completed her BS at Ferris State University and PharmD at the University of Cincinnati.  She finished an outcomes research fellowship at the University of South Carolina and Janssen Pharmaceuticals.  Anne Marie has diverse practice experience in community and hospital pharmacy as well as pharmaceutical and healthcare data industries.  She gained academic education and national organization experience working for the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education prior to establishing a consulting business for the past 5 years.  Anne Marie has been integral to CPF operations serving as the grants administrator since 2004.
Lou is a pharmacist and served the Foundation since 2002 bringing organizational and professional skills from 28 years as executive director of the Michigan Pharmacists Association and 6 years as Vice President of Professional Relations with Advance PCS (now CVS Caremark). Through his leadership, CPF established an online grant award process and has approved 150 grants and numerous projects contributing to over 6 million dollars in funds committed to assist community pharmacy practitioners in advancing patient care.  Lou has been appointed Executive Director Emeritus as a tribute to his years of service and countless contributions to CPF and the pharmacy profession. 
CPF President, Phil Burgess, RPh of Chicago (formerly a Walgreens executive and currently a national consultant), said, "This is an excellent transition for the Foundation which has been an outstanding resource to advance community pharmacy through the grants it awards, primarily to colleges of pharmacy working with state associations and community pharmacists across America.  Lou will pursue new professional projects to advance pharmacy leadership while Anne Marie continues working with the Board to advance the mission and bring the work of the Foundation to a growing segment of community pharmacy practitioners."  Burgess urged pharmacists to review the published work of the Foundation in the "Completed Grants" section of the website at
Serving as members of the Board of Directors for the Community Pharmacy Foundation are:
Phil Burgess, RPh, President
Philip Burgess Consulting – Chicago, IL
Lonnie Hollingsworth, PD, Vice President
L & H Pharmacies, Inc. – Lubbock, Texas
Robert Osterhaus, RPh, Treasurer
Osterhaus Pharmacy – Maquoketa, Iowa
Brian Jensen, RPh
Lakeshore Apothacare Inc., DBA The Medicine Shoppe Pharmacy Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Linda Garrelts MacLean, RPh
Associate Dean for Advancement | Clinical Professor | 
Washington State University College of Pharmacy – Spokane, Washington
Dorinda Martin, PharmD
Martin’s Compounding & Wellness Pharmacies – Austin, TX
Randy Myers, RPh
Harry’s Pharmacy – Carey, Ohio
Carlos Ortiz, RPh
Retired Pharmacist Executive, CVS – Amherst, MA
Interested persons and organizations are invited to visit the Foundation web site to review the criteria and process by which the Foundation will consider funding requests consistent with its Mission Statement.  
“The website is the Foundation’s primary source of information and method for grant application submission.  A major website enhancement will occur in 1Q15 permitting greater access to completed grant information, tools and communications.  This is an exciting development to continue dissemination of the CPF work to community pharmacy practitioners and researchers while permitting further engagement through social media discussions,” said Anne Marie Kondic, PharmD, Executive Director. 
Anne Marie Kondic
The Community Pharmacy Foundation (CPF) assists community pharmacy by providing resources for research and development to encourage new capabilities and continuous improvements in patient care.  
For more information visit